Internal Medicine Residency Faculty

Susan Collins, MD
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency

Dr. Susan Collins has been with Health Quest Medical Practice since joining the Vassar Brothers Medical Center hospitalist program in 2012. Prior to this she was a nephrologist in a local private practice. She graduated from Dartmouth College with a major in biophysical chemistry and a minor in art history, and received her medical degree from Albany Medical College. She then completed her internal medicine residency training at Brown University in Providence, RI where she was selected as a Chief Medical Resident. Upon completion of residency, she did a clinical and research fellowship in nephrology at Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, NY.

Dr. Collins has been actively involved in medical education and research throughout her career and is currently an Adjunct Faculty Member at Touro Medical College in Middletown, NY. She participated in the curriculum committee for the internal medicine residency while she was Chief Resident at Brown and also helped to initiate a program teaching the power of observation to “Cops and Docs” at the Rhode Island School of Design. She has led small group sessions with medical students throughout residency and fellowship teaching pathophysiology and clinical skills. She has numerous publications in topics ranging from microbial susceptibility to HIV associated nephropathy. She is a member of the American College of Physicians as well as the Society of Hospital Medicine.

Dr. Collins previously worked as the Assistant Medical Director for the Vassar Brothers Hospitalist Program before accepting the position of Program Director for the Health Quest Internal Medicine Residency. She has been a member of the Health Quest Medical Practice Board of Directors since 2016 and was Chair of the Health Quest Finance Committee. Since October 2017 she has taken on the role of Physician Coding Champion to help bridge the knowledge gap between the clinical practice of medicine and the world of documentation and coding. She is also a member of the Health Quest Quality and Performance Improvement Committee.


Margaret Apedo, MD

Anil Bhat, MD
Associate Program Director
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Timothy Collins, DO
Critical Care &
Pulmonary Medicine

Donzella Dixon, MD
Core Faculty
Ambulatory Medicine

Jodi Friedman, MD

Nili Gujadhur, MD
Infectious Disease

Hattie Lee, DO
Core Faculty
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Samyak Manandhar, MBBS
Core Faculty
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Sherly Mathew, MD
Ambulatory Internal Medicine

Uma Medapati, MD
Associate Program Director
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Amber Mitchell, MD

Radhika Rachamalla, MD
Hematology Oncology

Sandhyarani Samantara, MD
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Sahib Singh, MD
Core Faculty
Inpatient Internal Medicine

Hary Suseelan, MD
Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Vassar Brothers Medical Center

Faizan Arshad, MD
Emergency Medicine

Benoit Bewley, MD

Stephanie Midgley, MD
Emergency Medicine

Payman Shakouri, MD

Peter Varunok, MD